top of page

Simmer Down, Pop-ups & Music


You’re probably reading the headline thinking ‘simmer down, writer, simmer down.’ Those website pop-ups and music that smack you in the face as soon as the web page opens aren’t that big of a deal and shouldn’t get the pot stirring. Psssh…

Landing on a website, ready to divulge and savor every morsel of information on the page, only to be blocked by an in-yo-face pop-up is as traumatic as any clown in the closet could ever be. I hate it, I hate it, I hate it, but sadly I only see it more and more with each website I visit.

Listen, if I want music I’ll have my headphones in my ears, jammin’ to the songs I choose. If I want to join your list or get that discount or eBook, simply alerting me to the offer in a ‘normal’ manner will get my attention, and if I want to take you up on it, I will.

You strategically place those X’s to get off of those pop-up banners where the eyes cannot automatically see them, that is if they’re even large or visible enough to see in the first place. By the time I am actually on the page I’ve come looking for I am frustrated and must take a mini time-out to get myself back together. You have no idea how much of my day this ruins! Yes, ruins I said!

And what’s up with the music? Not only do you choose the one song in this world that no one knows, you also decide that it is worth blaring as loud as your software will allow you. Has it ever crossed your mind that maybe, just maybe I’m sneaking on the Internet in the middle of my work day and your loud and annoying music could get me busted (by the boss) really quickly? Geesh!

So, I beg of you, website owners, designers, and those of you thinking of creating a website: please give me a break! Stop with the pop-ups. Quit scaring me to death with that annoying music that I don’t want to hear. Just let me do me. I’ll like you so much better. Simmer down, pop-ups and music; simmer down.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page